A Little Bonus: 20 Of The Best Canadian Children’s Books

I love reading. I have since I was a little kid. Here’s a condensed version of a list I found on the Kidsspace page of the Toronto Public Library’s website. My version is twenty, theirs is 100 of the Best Canadian Books For Children.

I’ve read some of these, haven’t read others but I think it’s a good starting point for ones I’d like to share with my own kids someday.

  1. The Loon’s Necklace – William Toye
  2. Ann of Green Gables – Lucy Maud Montgomery
  3. Biscuits in the Cupboard – Barbara Nichol
  4. Canadian Fairy Tales – Eva Martin
  5. The Crazy Man – Pamela Porter
  6. The Dragon’s Pearl – Julie Lawson
  7. The Fishing Summer – Teddy Jam
  8. The Hand of Robin Squires – Joan Clarke
  9. Jeremy’s War: 1812 – John Ibbitson
  10. The Magic Paintbrush – Robin Muller
  11. No Frogs For Dinner – Frieda Wishinsky
  12. Owls in the Family – Farley Mowat
  13. The Paper Bag Princess – Robert Munsch
  14. Red Is Best – Kathy Stinson
  15. The Story of Canada – Janet Lunn
  16. Underground to Canada – Barbara Smucker
  17. Willow and Twig – Jean Little
  18. The Wreckers – Iain Lawrence
  19. The Wonderful Pigs of Jillian Jiggs – Pheobe Gilman
  20. There Were Monkeys In My Kitchen – Sheree Fitch
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

