20 Ways To Eat: An Almond #20

This is the last entry of my first list so I thought I would save what is most likely the most unusual for last.

I’m going to let you in on a not-so-secret secret. I’m not a huge seafood fan. I basically only like seafood that doesn’t taste like it. You know. The deep fried fish and chips kind or the completely coated in mayonnaise tuna salad kind. I keep trying different things at restaurants every so often in hopes that I’ll find something I do like and open up my personal menu choices a little bit.

One thing I haven’t seen is: Almond Fish Coating. Do you guys think I might like this one? I found it on eatingwell.com. I figure I like lemon and spinach for sure so it might have a shot.

And a quick side note… The older I get, the more aware of the environment and sustainability issues I get. I love the tip at the end for finding sustainably fished cod.

Don’t forget! A new list starts tomorrow! Enjoy!

Almond and Lemon Crusted Fish With Spinach

Total Time: 25 min   Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients

  • Zest and juice of 1 lemon, divided
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds, coarsely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh dill or 1 teaspoon dried
  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt, divided
  • Freshly ground pepper to taste
  • 1 1/4 pounds cod (see Tip) or halibut, cut into 4 portions
  • 4 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 cloves garlic, slivered
  • 1 pound baby spinach
  • Lemon wedges for garnish

Directions

Preheat oven to 400°F. Coat a rimmed baking sheet with cooking spray.

Combine lemon zest, almonds, dill, 1 tablespoon oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper in a small bowl. Place fish on the prepared baking sheet and spread each portion with 1 teaspoon mustard. Divide the almond mixture among the portions, pressing it onto the mustard.

Bake the fish until opaque in the center, about 7 to 9 minutes, depending on thickness.

Meanwhile, heat the remaining 2 teaspoons oil in a Dutch oven over medium heat. Add garlic and cook, stirring, until fragrant but not brown, about 30 seconds. Stir in spinach, lemon juice and the remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt; season with pepper. Cook, stirring often, until the spinach is just wilted, 2 to 4 minutes. Cover to keep warm. Serve the fish with the spinach and lemon wedges, if desired.

Tips & Notes

Tip: Overfishing and trawling have drastically reduced the number of cod in the U.S. and Canadian Atlantic Ocean and destroyed its sea floor. For sustainably fished cod, choose U.S. Pacific cod or Atlantic cod from Iceland and the northeast Arctic. For more information, visit Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch at seafoodwatch.org.

This entry was posted in 20 Ways, 20 Ways To Eat and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

